Join us for the AWS DevDay Online - Open Source Edition

Learn about Open Source technologies at AWS throughout this one-day online event – diving deep into Containers, open source Machine Learning with KubeFlow, full stack development with GraphQL and TypeScript, and powering analytics with Apache Flink.

What can you expect

Four hands-on, demo-packed sessions as part of this one-day online event where you will learn about Open Source technologies. View the agenda below. 

Who should attend

Developers, Dev Team Managers, and Solutions Architects who are running on AWS and keen on gaining deeper knowledge of the AWS services. The sessions are level 300 and 400.

Event details

Date & Time

17 September
10:00 - 15:00 BST
11:00 - 16:00 CEST

Location

Online

Speakers

  • , ,
  • , ,
  • , ,
  • , ,
  • , ,
  • , ,
  • , ,
  • , ,
  • , ,

Agenda

Click on the sessions below to find out more.
Mapping out the container network on Kubernetes | 10 :00 - 11:00 BST | 11:00 - 12:00 CEST

About the session

Planning your container networking on Kubernetes can complicated and you have different options available to you through the use of various CNI (Container Network Interface) Plugins. In this session I will show the different types of container networking and discuss how they can be implemented in a Kubernetes cluster running on AWS. I will also demo “Cilium”, the new kid on the block in terms of networking and show how choosing your networking implementation can affect you at scale.

Level: 300 (Advanced)

About the speaker

Liz Duke, Senior Specialist Solutions Architect, Container Technologies, AWS
Different ways to host your streaming pipelines with Apache Flink | 11:00 - 12:00 BST | 12:00 - 13:00 CEST

About the session

Apache Flink is a very powerful framework and distributed processing engine. It can do stateful streaming computations and analytics at any scale with milliseconds latency. if you want to run Apache Flink on AWS you have a few options: using plain old virtual machines, running on top of a Hadoop cluster, going full Kubernetes, or even using our managed service Kinesis Data Analytics for Apache Flink. In this presentation I will show you how to deploy your pipelines using all those options, and which are the pros/cons of each one. We will also lightly touch on other services, like Apache Kafka and Elasticsearch.

Level: 300 (Advanced)

About the speaker

Javier Ramirez, Senior Technical Advocate, AWS
Building machine learning workflows with Kubernetes and Kubeflow Pipelines | 13:00 - 14:00 BST | 14:00 - 15:00 CEST

About the session

Kubeflow is a popular open-source machine learning (ML) toolkit for Kubernetes users who want to build custom ML pipelines. Kubeflow Pipelines is an add-on to Kubeflow that lets you build and deploy portable and scalable end-to-end ML workflows. In this session, we show you how to get started with Kubeflow Pipelines on AWS. We also demonstrate how you can integrate powerful Amazon SageMaker features such as data labeling, large-scale hyperparameter tuning, distributed training jobs, secure and scalable model deployment using Amazon SageMaker Components for Kubeflow Pipelines.

Level: 300 (Advanced)

About the speaker

Antje Barth, Senior Developer Advocate, AWS
Full-stack TypeSafety with React, GraphQL, and TypeScript | 14:00 - 15:00 BST | 15:00 - 16:00 CEST

About the session

By combining React, GraphQL (TypeGraphQL), GraphQL Codegen and TypeScript, we can achieve full type-safety across the entire application stack. This can technique can reduce the chances of shipping defects and manually building type definitions for your APIs.


Pre-required knowledge: React, GraphQL, TypeScript.

Level: 400 (Expert)

About the speaker

Robert Zhu, Principal Technical Advocate, AWS


Register now

Fill out the form below to register

Register now